Spells with Attack Rolls
A small number of spells require the caster to make an attack roll in order to
deliver damage or other effects to the victim. Some of these can be very
potent, but their power is limited by the requirement to actually touch the subject
with a successful attack roll. Generally, the caster can execute a touch attack
(or roll an attack roll) as soon as he finishes casting the spell, or he can
delay until the end of the current round and then make his attack. However, if
the caster doesnÆt attempt to discharge the spell in the round in which it is
cast, it is wasted unless the spell has a duration of more than one round. For
example, cause light wounds must be used in the same round in which it is cast, but since chill touch lasts a minimum of four rounds, the caster doesnÆt have to ôuse it or lose itö
in the round he casts the spell.
A number of spells donÆt require the caster to actually injure the target or
breach the victimÆs armor; even a glancing touch will be sufficient to discharge
the spellÆs effects on the target. Spells of this type ignore the portion of the victimÆs Armor Class that is derived from wearing
armor. In other words, only Dexterity-based and magical adjustments help a
characterÆs Armor Class against some magical attacks.
Oromonos the wizard takes a dislike to an obnoxious guard and decides to teach
him a lesson with a shocking grasp. Since the spell only requires the wizard to make contact with the target,
the DM rules that the guardÆs plate mail +1 wonÆt help him. Only the 1-point
Armor Class bonus for the armorÆs enchantment counts for the guardÆs AC, which
makes him AC 9 to OromonosÆs attack instead of his usual AC 2.
Which spells qualify as spells that bypass armor? Basically, this is a
judgment call for the DM. In order to gain this advantage, the spell description
should clearly imply that the spell would take effect even if it struck the victim
on the breastplate instead of requiring the casterÆs hand to actually touch
exposed skin. Another way of looking at it is this: Does the spell emulate the
action of a normal weapon, such as a sword, arrow, or dagger? If it does, the spell
definitely requires a normal attack roll on the part of the caster, but if the
spell affects the victimÆs life force or achieves its effect from simple
contact, the subjectÆs armor is ignored.
Spells that directly affect the subjectÆs life force include most of the
necromantic touch spells (chill touch, vampiric touch, energy drain, etc.), the various cause wound spells and other reversals of healing spells such as poison, slay living, and destruction. The victimÆs armor does not help to protect him from these attacks. Spells
that somehow change or alter the victimÆs status, such as imprisonment, plane shift, or dispel evil also ignore armor.
A second category of spells that can affect the victim through his armor
includes spells that produce energy or forces against which armor is useless. For
example, shocking grasp, chromatic orb, watery double, produce flame, fire seeds, or crystalbrittle can affect an armored or unarmored person equally well.
Some spells that use attack rolls but ignore the victimÆs armor appear in Table 41 : Armor-Breaching Spells.
Spells that create physical attacks or emulate the effects of weapons include
such enchantments as ice knife, hovering skull, MordenkainenÆs sword, and spiritual hammer. Since these spells manifest as tangible weapons and are wielded in the same
way, the subject is allowed the full benefit of his or her armor. See Table 42 : Armor-Observing Spells.
PlayerÆs Option: Combat & Tactics: In the revised initiative system introduced in the Combat & Tactics book, spells that require attack rolls are cast as normal (i.e., on the fast,
average, or slow phase, as appropriate for the casting time). After the spell
is invoked, the caster may then make his attack for the round in any subsequent
phase. For example, a wizard who casts chill touch, a fast spell, may then make a touch attack in the average, slow, or very
slow phases. Note that the character still receives only one attack per round.
Even though the wizard will often be æunarmedÆ when he uses a touch attack
spell, he does not provoke an attack of opportunity since heÆs not attempting to initiate unarmed
combat. All he needs to do is touch the subject, not land a full-force punch
or wrestle with the fellow. However, a victim who is guarding will still be able
to make his own attack before the wizard can deliver his touch-based attack.
Table of Contents